MMAML 2011 (call for papers in pdf)

Special Session on Multiple Model Approach to Machine Learning

at the 3rd Asian Conference on Intelligent Information and Database Systems (ACIIDS 2011)

Daegu, Korea, April 20-22 , 2011

Objectives and topics

Ensemble methods have gained great attention of scientific community over the last several years. Multiple models have been theoretically and empirically shown to provide significantly better performance than their single base models. Ensemble algorithms have found their application in various real word problems ranging from person recognition through medical diagnosis and text classification to financial forecasting. The MMAML 2011 Special Session at the 3rd Asian Conference on Intelligent Information and Database Systems (ACIIDS 2011) is devoted to the ensemble methods and their application to classification, prediction, and clustering problems. We want to offer an opportunity for researchers and practitioners to identify new promising research directions as well as to publish recent advances in this area. The scope of the MMAML 2011 includes, but is not limited to the following topics:
  • Theoretical framework for ensemble methods
  • Ensemble learning algorithms: bagging, boosting, stacking, etc.
  • Ensemble methods in clustering
  • Dealing with large volumes of data and lack of adequate data
  • Model and feature selection in multiple model machine learning
  • Diversity, accuracy and stability issues
  • Hybrid ensembles
  • Hybrid methods in prediction and classification
  • Time factor in ensemble models
  • Multi-objective ensemble models
  • Ensemble methods in agent and multi-agent systems
  • Newest methods for generating ensembles
  • Implementations of ensemble learning algorithms
  • Assessment and statistical analysis of ensemble models
  • Applications of ensemble methods in business, engineering, medicine, etc. 

Session chairs


Oscar Cordón,
European Centre for Soft Computing, Spain
Przemysław Kazienko,
Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland
Bogdan Trawiński,
Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland

International Program Committee

Hussein A. Abbass, University of New South Wales, Australia
Ajith Abraham, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Jesús Alcalá-Fdez, University of Granada, Spain
Ethem Alpaydin, Bogaziçi University, Turkey
Oscar Castillo, Tijuana Institute of Technology, Mexico
Rung-Ching Chen, Chaoyang University of Technology, Taiwan
Suphamit Chittayasothorn, King Mongkut's Institute of Technology Ladkrabang, Thailand
Emilio Corchado, University of Burgos, Spain
Oscar Cordón, European Centre for Soft Computing, Spain
José Alfredo F. Costa, Federal University (UFRN), Brazil
Mustafa Mat Deris, Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia, Malaysia
Patrick Gallinari, Pierre et Marie Curie University, France
Lawrence O. Hall, University of South Florida, USA
Francisco Herrera, University of Granada, Spain
Frank Hoffmann, TU Dortmund, Germany
Tzung-Pei Hong, National University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Hisao Ishibuchi, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
Yaochu Jin, University of Surrey, UK
Przemysław Kazienko, Wrocław University of Technology, Poland
YongSeog Kim, Utah State University, USA
Frank Klawonn, Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Kin Keung Lai, City University of Hong Kong, HK
Mark Last, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Kun Chang Lee, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
Chunshien Li, National Central University, Taiwan
Heitor S. Lopes, Federal University of Technology Paraná, Brazil
Edwin Lughofer, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
Witold Pedrycz, University of Alberta, Canada
Ke Tang, University of Science and Technology of China, China
Bogdan Trawiński, Wrocław University of Technology, Poland
Olgierd Unold, Wrocław University of Technology, Poland
Michał Wozniak, Wrocław University of Technology, Poland
Zhongwei Zhang, University of Southern Queensland, Australia
Zhi-Hua Zhou, Nanjing University, China

Important dates

Submission of papers: 31 October 2010 Extended till 7 November 2010
Notification of acceptance: 15 December 2010
Camera-ready papers: 15 January 2011
Authors / Early registration: 15 January 2011
Conference date: 20–22 April 2011

Call for papers

All contributions should be original and not published elsewhere or intended to be published during the review period. Authors are invited to submit their papers electronically in pdf format, using main ACIIDS 2011 submission system. Submitted papers should be prepared in Springer LNAI style and should not exceed 10 pages. To ensure high quality, all papers will be thoroughly reviewed by the MMAML 2011 International Program Committee. All accepted papers must be presented by one of the authors who must register for the conference and pay the fee. The conference proceedings will be published by Springer in the prestigious series LNCS/LNAI (indexed by ISI, EI, DBLP, Inspec, Scope, etc.). A selected number of accepted and personally presented papers will be expanded and revised for possible inclusion in special issues in high quality scientific journals.

Organizing committee


Zbigniew Telec (chair),
Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland
Tomasz Kajdanowicz,
Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland
Magdalena Smetek,
Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland